God has continually blessed Concordia Lutheran Church throughout its rich history. From the first church service to the present day the Holy Spirit has molded and shaped this body of believers into a congregation where Jesus is the Chief Cornerstone. Today, Concordia has become one of the largest congregations within the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod. All praise to our Father in heaven!
The founders of Concordia could never have imagined God's plan for Concordia. Concordia’s founding pastor, Reverend Dr. Guido Merkens, conducted the first service November 4, 1951 at our original church on Basse Road, with 64 people in attendance. Concordia formally recognized its charter and became an organized congregation Sunday, December 16, 1951. On that same evening, the 37 charter members partook of the Sacrament of Holy Communion for the first time in their House of God and thus began the life of Concordia's congregation.
Dr. Merkens shepherded Concordia from 1951 to 1993. During that time the Basse Road facility grew by 22 expansions and additions to a 14-acre campus. In 1994, Christ once again provided for Concordia with the leadership of Reverend Dr. William G. Thompson, who led the congregation in their purchase of 48 acres at our present day location. The new campus was completed in time for Concordia’s Day School opening in August 1998.
The year 2001 was another important one in Concordia’s history. Not only did we celebrate our 50th anniversary, but God once again blessed us with a wonderful shepherd, Reverend William H. Tucker. Pastor Tucker is joined by Pastor Zach McIntosh (Assistant Pastor) and Pastor Larry Krueger (Assistant Pastor). Their combined talents and leadership are truly a blessing from God.
We were blessed in February of 2009 to dedicate the latest addition to our campus, our Sanctuary and 123-foot landmark cross. Today our beloved Concordia is a congregation 6,000+ strong with the never-ending mission of reaching the lost and discipling the found.